2021 Virtual Symposium

Wednesday, March 3 | Noon EST

Women and Addiction: From Science to Policy

Women and girls represent an increasing proportion of those with substance use disorders worldwide. Since the relatively recent inclusion of women in addiction research, studies have revealed critical differences in effective interventions between men and women. Shelly Greenfield, MD ’86, MPH, will discuss the science behind a gender-specific approach to optimizing prevention and recovery for women.

Hosted By

Tenley E. Albright, MD ’61
Nile L. Albright, AB ’61, MD

Remarks By

George Q. Daley, AB ’82, MD ’91, PhD
Harvard Medical School


Shelly F. Greenfield, MD ’86, MPH
Professor of Psychiatry 
Harvard Medical School

Chief Academic Officer
Kristine M. Trustey Endowed Chair in Psychiatry
Chief, Division of Women’s Mental Health
Director, Alcohol, Drugs and Addiction Clinical and Health Services Research Program McLean Hospital
McLean Hospital

Registration opens in January

For more information, please email albright@hms.harvard.edu


Speaker Bios

  • George Q. Daley, AB ’82, MD ’91, PhD

    George Daley

    George Daley is the 22nd dean of Harvard Medical School and the Caroline Shields Walker Professor of Medicine. An internationally recognized leader in stem cell science and cancer biology, Daley does work spanning the fields of basic science and clinical medicine. Daley’s lab aims to define fundamental principles of how stem cells contribute to tissue regeneration and repair and improve drug and transplantation therapies for patients with malignant and genetic bone marrow disease. Beyond his research, he has helped to lead the development of international guidelines for conducting stem cell research and for the clinical translation of stem cells.

  • Shelly F. Greenfield, MD ’86, MPH

    Shelly F. Greenfield

    Shelly F. Greenfield, MD, MPH, is a professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and the Kristine M. Trustey Endowed Chair of Psychiatry at McLean Hospital, where she also serves as the chief academic officer. She is the chief of the Division of Women’s Mental Health and the director of Clinical and Health Services Research and Education in the Alcohol, Drug and Addiction Treatment Program at McLean Hospital. Greenfield is an addiction psychiatrist, clinician, and researcher. Greenfield has served as a principal investigator and a co-investigator on federally funded research focusing on treatment for substance use disorders, gender differences in substance disorders, and health services for substance disorders. She received a National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)-funded career award in substance use disorder patient-oriented research (2005-2016). Funded by grants from NIH/NIDA, she developed and tested a new manual-based group therapy for women with substance use disorders, the Women’s Recovery Group (WRG). The WRG is an evidence-based treatment and the manual for dissemination was published in 2016, Treating Women with Substance Use Disorders: The Women’s Recovery Group Manual. She is immediate past president of the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry and current member and past chair of the American Psychiatric Association’s Council on Addiction Psychiatry and. She is the immediate past editor-in-chief of the Harvard Review of Psychiatry (2002-2018). Greenfield was a member of the Advisory Committee on Services for Women for the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (2011-2017). She has been elected to the American College of Psychiatrists and the College on Problems of Drug Dependence and is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association. She received the R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Society of Addiction Medicine and the A. Clifford Barger Award for Excellence in Mentoring from Harvard Medical School.

  • Past keynote speakers

    2020: Canceled
    2019: Sharon K. Inouye, MD, MPH, and Bruce A. Yankner, MD, PhD
    2018: Arlene H. Sharpe, AB ’75, AM ’76, PhD ’81, MD ’82, and Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD ’69
    2017: David M. Altshuler, MD ’90, PhD ’90, and Laurie H. Glimcher, AB ’72, MD ’76
    2016: Dennis A. Ausiello, AM ’67, MD, and Nancy E. Oriol, MD ’79
    2015: Edward M. Hundert, MD ’84, and George Q. Daley, AB ’82, MD ’91, PhD
    2013: Lewis C. Cantley, PhD and Peter K. Sorger, AB ’83, PhD
    2012: Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD, and John A. Parrish, MD
    2011: Eric S. Lander, PhD, and Vamsi K. Mootha, MD ’98
    2010: Robert S. Langer Jr., PhD, ScD, and David T. Scadden, MD
    2009: Edward J. Benz Jr., MD ’72, and Robert A. Weinberg, PhD
    2008: Atul A. Gawande, MD ’94, MPH ’99, Tom J. Brady, MD, and John E. Abele
    2007: Peter Libby, MD, and Michael B. Brenner, MD
    2006: Judah M. Folkman, MD ’57, and Robert S. Langer Jr., PhD, ScD
    2005: Edward M. Scolnick, MD ’65, and Todd R. Golub, MD
    2004: George Q. Daley, AB ’82, MD ’91, PhD, David T. Scadden, MD, and Rudolf Jaenisch, MD
    2003: Gary J. Nabel, MD ’79, PhD ’82
    2002: Steven E. Hyman, MD ’80, and Carla J. Shatz, PhD ’76, MPhil
    2001: Eric S. Lander, PhD, and Raju Kucherlapati, MD, PhD

  • Past scholar recipients

    2020: Selena Shi-Yao Li, AB ’15, MD ’20
    2019: Samantha M. Landino , MD ’19
    2018: Jennifer Bido, MPH ’17, MD ’18
    2017: Irene Y. Zhang, MD ’17
    2016: Derek S. Stenquist, MD ’16
    2015: Shakina Elmore, MD ’14
    2013: Sophia K. McKinley, AB ’06, EdM ’13, MD ’13
    2012: Benedict U. Nwachukwu, MBA ’13, MD ’13
    2011: Dayron Rodriguez, MD ’12, MPH ’12
    2010: Regan Bergmark, MD ’11
    2009: Carolyn Schook, MD ’11
    2008: Theodore Nyame, MD ’09
    2007: Eric Feins, MD ’08
    2006: Sarah Psutka, AB ’03, MD ’07
    2005: Dzifa Kpodzo, MD ’05, MPH ’06
    2004: Elisabeth Tomlinson Tracy, AB ’99, MD ’05
    2003: Coleen Sabatini, MD ’03, MPH ’04
    2002: Jeffrey Edwards, MD ’03
    2001: Melody Hou, MD ’03, MPH ’08